The collection consists of a variety of naturalization records for 32 of 55 West Virginia Counties.
Records include declarations of intention, petitions, oaths of allegiance, certificates of naturalization (stubs), registers of naturalizations granted and/or denied, card files of naturalization, naturalization orders, lists of naturalized citizens, naturalization dockets, etc. Counties included are Barbour, Berkeley, Brooke, Clay, Fayette, Gilmer, Greenbrier, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Lewis, Logan, Marion, Mason, McDowell, Mineral, Mingo, Monongalia, Nicholas, Ohio, Pocahontas, Preston, Raleigh, Randolph, Roane, Summers, Tucker, Upshur, Wetzel, Wood, and Wyoming.