A Gazetteer of Indian Territory
A Gazetteer of Indian Territory. Henry Gannett. (1905) 2007. This booklet is packed with information about "Indian Territory," the area that is described in 1905 as "bounded on the north by Kansas, on the east by Arkansas, on the south by Texas, and on the west by Oklahoma." Oklahoma was admitted as the 46th State of the Union in 1907 and included the bulk of Indian Territory.
Despite its name, whites comprised more than three quarters of the population of Indian Territory at the turn of the century. The remainder was roughly split between Indians and blacks who were former slaves of the Indians or their descendants.
The Indian population was largely comprised of the Cherokee, Creek, Seminole, Choctaw, and Chickasaw which came to be known as the "Five Civilized Tribes." A variety of other tribes were represented, however, including the Quapaw, Peoria, Modoc, Seneca, Ottawa, Wyandot, and Shawnee. The Indian nations set up such towns as Tulsa, Ardmore, Chickasha, McAlester, Tahlequah, Durant, Tishomingo, Muskogee, some of which remains among the largest cities in the area today.
The booklet itemizes approximately 2100 villages, towns, creeks, rivers, mountains and other named features of the area along with a description of their locations and including, in many cases, nearby rivers, railroads, population, or other characteristics. In each case, a cross-reference is also made to the atlas sheets published separately by the United States Geological Survey.

Henry Gannett, A Gazetteer of Indian Territory (Washington, 1905). Archive CD Books USA.